Finalists for 2019 TMA/SSI Monitoring Technology “Marvel” Award Announced

The Monitoring Association and Security Sales & Integration announced the finalists for “the Marvel” — the inaugural TMA/SSI Monitoring Technology “Marvel” Award. They are:

  • CPI Security
  • Securens Systems Pvt. Ltd.

This award honors innovations in monitoring center technology. It is co-sponsored by TMA and Security Sales & Integration (SSI) and coordinated by the TMA Technology Committee.

The purpose of the Marvel is to provide recognition for monitoring centers creating and/or using cutting-edge technology and to raise awareness of these new technologies.

The Marvel will be presented to one overall winner for the “best adoption of new technology to advance your business.” Submission categories included:

  • Best implementation of video verification
  • Best implementation of PERS monitoring
  • Best technology to build efficiency in monitoring
  • Best cybersecurity
  • Best new business model
  • Best migration to the cloud

The winner of the Marvel will be announced on June 3, 2019 in Indianapolis (as part of the 2019 Electronic Security Expo) and will be featured in the August 2019 Monitoring Issue of SSI. Runners-up will also receive coverage in the issue.

TMA Meeting and Events at ESX 2019

We look forward to seeing you Indy for ESX 2019, June 3-6! It’s going to be a valuable week for you and your business.

Here are some QuickLinks to help you made the most of your ESX experience:

Visit TMA staff in Booth 601 and enter our prize drawing!

2019 TMA Excellence Awards Finalists Announced

The Monitoring Association (TMA) is pleased to announce the twelve finalists for the 2019 TMA Excellence Awards. Listed in alphabetical order by company within each category, they are:

2019 TMA Monitoring Center of the Year

  1. CPI
  2. Guardian
  3. Lydia (COPS)

2019 TMA Manager of the Year

  1. Tracy Ehrsam, Habitec Security
  2. Patricia Morse, Richmond Alarm Company
  3. Sarah Murphy, Sonitrol

2019 TMA Operator of the Year

  1. Ciera Cannon, Universal Atlantic Systems
  2. Jane Starkey, Habitec Security
  3. Charles White, Affiliated

2019 TMA Support Person of the Year

  1. Adam Crowe, Alarm Systems
  2. Ben Perry, Universal Atlantic Systems
  3. Robert Rodriguez, Affiliated

“Each year, we take tremendous pride in recognizing Monitoring Centers who demonstrate their commitment to excellence, as well as those working in key support roles within the monitoring industry whose dedication, skills, and abilities set them apart from their peers,” said Leigh A. McGuire, director of Marketing and Communications, TMA. “Our finalists this year represent the best–in-class within the monitoring industry today and we extend our sincere congratulations to each company and professional.”

The TMA Monitoring Center Excellence Awards recognize any FM Approvals, Intertek/ETL or UL-listed monitoring center (TMA members and non-members) and outstanding personnel who perform in the highest professional manner, thereby making a significant contribution to the betterment of the alarm industry and the alarm profession while demonstrating exceptional service to their customers and community.

The purpose of the awards program is to:

  • Establish and promote the inherent value of professional monitoring services in general.
  • Honor those who have made the most significant contributions to the service.
  • Promote the distinct level of professionalism attained by NRTL-approved monitoring centers.

The TMA Monitoring Center Excellence Awards are co-sponsored by SDM Magazine, which will publish a feature story on the winners later this summer. Entries are judged by a blue-ribbon volunteer judging panel appointed by TMA. The four winners will be announced at the Opening Reception of the 2019 Electronic Security Expo (ESX) on Monday, June 3, 2019.

NY State Police Officer to Receive 2019 TMA Public Sector Award

The Monitoring Association [TMA] is pleased to announce New York State Lieutenant Rachael VanDeusen is the 2019 recipient of its Public Sector Award. Lt. VanDeusen is credited with leading the efforts to expand access to TMA’s ASAP-to-PSAP1 Service via the New York eJustice Information System (CIIS). She will be the fifth recipient of the award, which was established in 2015 to recognize a public sector individual’s contribution to the alarm industry and its subscribers. Lt. VanDeusen will receive the Award at a luncheon on June 6 at the Electronic Security Expo (ESX) in Indianapolis, IN

The ASAP-to-PSAP service, launched in 2011 as a public-private partnership, is based on an American National Standard developed jointly by the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International and TMA, then the Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA). The service provides a standardized method, through the use of automation and the power of Nlets, to deliver alarm notifications to 9-1-1 Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs). The result can be an increase in the likelihood of law enforcement apprehensions for crimes in-progress and of fire quickly extinguished with minimal property damage. ASAP can be a life-saver for a medical emergency patient when every second counts.

“Through her efforts in sharing her vision with the New York State Police command staff and in working in collaboration with COMMs, Lt. VanDeusen has introduced life-saving technologies that will ultimately lead to greater safety throughout her community,” stated Ivan Spector, president, TMA. “She has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and determination. TMA is very honored to present this year’s Public Sector Award to Lt. VanDeusen in recognition of and appreciation for unwavering efforts.”

Of particular significance, Suffolk County Fire Rescue Communications Center (known as COMMs) will be the first fire-only PSAP in the nation to be connected to ASAP via a state law enforcement system. Traditionally, by policy or law, non-law enforcement agencies have not been able to access the state CISS system, the primary method for PSAPs to access the ASAP service. COMMs is a part of the Suffolk County Government, servicing 1.5 million residents and 10,000 first responders.

The award recipient must be nominated by one or more TMA members in good standing. Bob Turner, TMA ASAP Consultant and Jay Hahn, former President and former Executive Director & CEO of TMA put Lt. VanDeusen’s name forward for consideration.                            

Visit TMA’s website to learn more about previous winners of its annual Public Sector Award and the ASAP-to-PSAP service.

Lt. Rachael VanDeusen