Vector Security’s Rick Simpson is New Chair of TMA Standards Committee

Rick SimpsonTMA, as an ANSI-approved SDO (Standards Development Organization), has an active Standards committee. This committee promotes and produces standards to help guide alarm companies in operating their monitoring centers within ANSI guidelines. Today TMA is pleased to announce the new chair of this committee: Vector Security VP of Technical Services Rick Simpson. A long-time active participant in the security industry, Simpson is known for working to safeguard codes and processes that are fair for labor, industry and the consumer.

Beginning his career in the alarm industry more than 30 years ago as a service technician, Simpson has held numerous technical services management positions within Vector. Today, he is responsible for the development of Vector’s technical product selection, installation and servicing protocols. He is NICET Level 3 certified and is Vectors’s technical license holder in more than 15 states.

Simpson has served as Chairperson of the ESA Standards and Fire Life Safety Committee for 7 years and has represented TMA on NFPA 72 Household Fire Alarm Systems. He has faced numerous uphill battles in fighting code development which would have been detrimental to industry growth.

Simpson says that initially he plans to continue the current focus on recognized industry standards including NFPA 72 and 101, and begin a review  of CP-01 and its impact on the alarm industry.

The Standards committee will be co-chaired by Shane Clary, Vice President, Codes and Standards Compliance at Bay Alarm Company. For more information on this committee, contact Bryan Ginn at TMA.


Why CSAA Five Diamond Matters to You

A Message for Consumers

Are you considering an alarm system or other monitoring system for your home or business? As a consumer, you want what’s best for your family, your employees, your property. There are a lot of choices out there. But only a select few companiesFive Diamond Logo 2015 can say they are “CSAA Five Diamond-Certified.”

CSAA, the organization that represents the alarm monitoring industry, grants Five Diamond status to companies that made it their practice to meet the highest levels of professionalism, training, and expertise in the industry. Certification is granted annually to monitoring companies that satisfy all of the requirements of the “five points of excellence:”

  1. Commitment to random inspections and quality criteria standards by a nationally recognized testing laboratory such as FM Approvals, Intertek/ETL and UL.
  2. Commitment to the highest levels of customer service.
  3. Commitment to ongoing job-related education and testing by having 100% of their central station operators certified using the CSAA online training series, the industry standard.
  4. Commitment to raising the industry standards through CSAA membership and participation in its activities.
  5. Commitment to reducing false dispatches.

You can be assured that a company that meets these requirements is one that is dedicated to providing the level of service and protection you deserve and count on.

Tell your salesperson that you want a monitoring company that is staffed by trained, knowledgeable professionals and boasts equipment and procedures that meet the highest standards. From among the thousands and thousands of alarm companies in the USA, choose one of the fewer than 200 that are CSAA Five Diamond-certified.

© 2016 CSAA International.