Stanley C. Lott Award

This award was created to honor the memory of Stanley C. Lott.

The Lott Award, in the words of former CSAA President David Carter, “is not given each year, but is reserved for the very special recognition of those whose contributions to the industry have been most significant –contributions which have spanned years and decades.”

Who was Stanley C. Lott?

Many thanks to Bob Bonifas, Alarm Detection Systems, for this history and photo of Mr. Lott.

Stanley C. Lott was a dedicated leader and a past president. In his honor, TMA awards its highest recognition of leadership and support.Stan served two-year terms as president of the Alarm Association of Florida when he was 36 years old, president of NBFAA when he was 39 and president of CSAA when he was 42, from 1985 to 1987.

But Stan’s contribution to the industry and to TMA far exceeded his efforts as President.  Stan served until his death, as volunteer frequency coordinator for the TMA radio frequencies.

Through the 1980s, TMA (then CSAA) and NBFAA shared an office, office staff and executive director. The office ran desperately short of money and needed to get loans from its leadership.

Stan was one of the first to loan the association $10,000 and he also co-signed a note for a $150,000 loan to assure the association’s survival.

In 1986, the office was without a joint executive director and lacked the funds to hire one. Stan turned the day-to-day operation of his company, Guardian Systems, Inc., Ft. Pierce, Fla., over to his management at some risk to his best interest,  rented an apartment, and moved to Washington, DC at his expense and worked for nine months without compensation to allow its survival.  It was largely through Stan’s initiative that TMA established the “Five Star Security Services” concept, the precursor of the TMA Five Diamond Monitoring Center concept, designed to emphasize TMA member companies’ high levels of professionalism and service excellence.  It is fitting that TMA’s highest recognition of contribution and achievement is given in Stan’s name in honor of his significant contribution to TMA and this industry.

The following individuals have been recipients of the award:

1991 Robert Bitton
Supreme Security Systems, Inc.,
Union, NJ
1993 Patricia M. Smith
Thomas F. Smith

Security, Inc.
Bethesda, MD
1995 Robert A. Bonifas
Alarm Detection Systems, Inc.
Aurora, IL
1996 Steve Roth
Syosset, NY
1997 Robert L. Ohm
Wells Fargo Alarm Services, Inc.
King of Prussia, PA
1998 Tom Lewin
Appropriate Data Communications, Inc.
Minneapolis, MN
1999 Isaac Papier
Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.
Northbrook, IL
2001 Stanley Martin
Syosset, NY
2002 William Moody
2003 Ralph W. Sevinor
Wayne Alarm Systems, Inc.
Lynn, MA
2004 John Mabry
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
2005 Louis T. Fiore
L. T. Fiore, Inc.
Sparta, NJ
2006 Ben Cornett
Honeywell Security
Louisville, KY
2007 Benjamin H. Dickens, Jr., Esq.
Blooston, Mordkofsky, Dickens, Duffy and Prendergast
Washington, DC
2008 John A. Murphy
Vector Security
Mt  Laurel, NJ
2009 Stanley Oppenheim
DGA Security
New York, NY
2010 Mel Mahler
ADS Security
Nashville, TN
2011 Pam Petrow
Vector Security
Pittsburgh, PA
2012 Ed Bonifas
ADS Security
Aurora, IL
2013 Peter Lowitt
Lowitt Alarms and Security Systems
Hicksville, NY
2014 Steve Doyle
Central Station Alarm Association International
Vienna, VA
2016 Teresa Gonzalez
United Central Control
San Antonio, TX
2017 Morgan Hertel
Rapid Response Monitoring Services
Corona, CA
2018 Bud Wulforst
A-1 Security
Reno, Nevada
2019 Jay Hauhn
ADT Consultant
Brooklyn Park, MD